Movie Reflections: Ice Age “My Dream”

I was watching the movie “Ice Age” today at my friend’s house.

It was towards the end of the movie. Manny (wholly mammoth) was being surrounded by Sabertooth tigers trying to corner him. The leader of the pack jumped and went for the killing strike, but Diego (another sabertooth tiger) jumped and sacrificed his body to protect Manny.

Manny uses this opportunity to fight back all the threats and secures peace for him and his friends.

Manny see’s Diego lying on the ground and it looks like he’s about to die.

Manny says, “You didn’t have to do that …”

Diego responds, “Thats what you do in a herd, you look after each other.”



I didn’t know why, but that scene struck a chord with me.

It was as if, I’ve been waiting for a long time to hear something like that.

And now, after thinking about it for a couple hours, I realize why.

I want to be like Diego.

Not in the sense, that he risks his life for others (if only I could be that brave).

No, what I mean is look at his herd. His herd consists of a sloth, a wholly mammoth, a sabertooth tiger, and a baby human.

That is typically the food chain right there.

Human hunts wholly mammoth for fur & meat. Tiger hunts wholly mammoth and sloths for meat. The are natural enemies.

And here they are, leaving all their differences behind, and in a sense becoming a family.



When I look into the world, I see nothing about groups. Groups that are separated by differences. Differences which include age, race, occupation, alumni’s, social, and so many more.

For me, the most important difference is religion. There is so many and yet somehow there are always issues between them.

Wars are started because of religious differences. People are killed because of religious differences. It is natural to plant bombs on yourself and kill others in the name of your religion.

I was raised a Catholic and therefore I was taught that we are right and that mostly everyone else is wrong. But isn’t that what every other religion teaches too? That they are right, and everyone else (including us Catholics) are wrong?

I just find it ironic.



My goal here isn’t to prove that anyone is right or that anyone is wrong.

My goal here is to do what Diego did, find a reason to co-exist and become a herd of animals that naturally can’t co-exist.

In a world full of religious differences, I’m set on finding a reason that we can all co-exist and become a family.

A family full of love, acceptance, support, non-judgment, and non-resistance.

That is my dream.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

