No Invites???

For my birthday, I was invited to a private dinner.

I was told strictly that I could not invite anyone.

I turned 32 this year.

It was fun with a small group of tight-knit friends at Truluck’s seafood.

We went mainly because it was Restaurant week in Dallas.



When we got home, one of my friends got picked up by her sister who we all knew.

Her sister, said, “Happy Birthday Anh Thao!!! Thanks for the invite.”

I said, “It was a private dinner! I couldn’t even bring my own date.”

The event organizer said, “He doesn’t even have anyone to bring as a date. Stop lying fool.”

I said, “Whatever. If there’s anyone to blame, it’s the event organizer.”



After they all left, I had a sudden epiphany.

One of those one-liners you come up as the perfect comeback, but only that you come up with way to late.

The moment has already passed.

I was thinking inside my head that I should’ve said, “I didn’t even know I was invited until I got invited!”

It’s a statement to prove my innocence that I had no part in the “no invites” that happened during my party.



Of course after thinking about it, I felt like it made no sense.

Or rather it’s one of those obvious statements that is unnecessary to bring up.

Of course, I didn’t know I was invited until I got invited.

Who knows beforehand if you are invited to an event?

If you already know you are invited, then why would they go through the trouble of inviting you a second time?



It’s like saying, “I didn’t start gaining weight, until I started overeating.”

Yeh, that’s typically how people gain weight, by overeating.

Or, “I always lose my cool, when I’m around annoying people.”

Annoying people usually possess the ability to make other people lose their cool.

It’s what makes them so annoying.



Yeh, now that I think about it, it’s probably a good reason I didn’t come up with it at that moment.

It’s one of those things that when you think about it, it kind of makes you feel dumber.

Is that even possible?

Losing the knowledge you already possess.

Haha, I’m going to start a De-Evolution of the human mind by influencing everyone me to be more stupid … :).

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “No Invites???

  1. Vi says:

    Haha, I was thinking it was more similar to “It’s always in the last place you look.” No sh*t Sherlock.

Leave a Reply

