Something Inside of You

There is something inside of you, that is inside all of us.

It only feels alive when you can do more than someone else.

“All day baby. All day. You know you can’t guard me.”

“That win was so easy. I didn’t even have to try.”



There is something inside of you, that is inside all of us.

It enjoys making others inferior, so you can feel superior.

“Are you dumb? How come you don’t know that?”

“This is so easy even a 5th grader can do it. And you’re having trouble with it?”



There is something inside of you, that is inside all of us.

It likes to equate who you are with what you have.

“Don’t worry, you’ll be happier when you get a new car. I promise.”

“I just lost all my money in the stock market. My life is over.”



There is something inside of you, that is inside all of us.

It takes everything that happens personally and then over-reacts.

“She purposely didn’t say Hi to me. What’s her problem …”

“John hasn’t text me back since I texted him 15 mins ago. Is he upset with me?”



There is something inside of you, that is inside all of us.

It likes to drop names, hoping that the association with important people will make you feel more important.

“I only do make-up for A-List celebrities such as Katy Perry and Ellen Degeneres.”

“Of course, I know John. We go way back. I’m one of the reason he is so big now. I showed him everything he knows.”



There is something inside of you, that is inside all of us.

It enjoys wanting so much, it never stops to enjoy what it has attained.

“I’m so blessed to have so much in my life, but you know what would make it even better … a job that allows me to travel.”

“My closet is full of Air Jordans. I have enough to wear one pair everyday of the year. OMG, they’re coming out with a new one next month! Must camp overnight to be the first one to get it.”



There is something inside of you, that is inside all of us.

It relentlessly find ways to keep you away from happiness.

It keeps you busy with trivial matters, so you might overlook all the important stuff.

That something which is inside of you and everyone else, it is called the ego.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

