FB Status Update: May Birthdays

Me and mom re-counting all the people who have May birthdays in our family.

Mom: We have your Dad’s, then grandpa’s, and then your nephew Cu Minh’s.

(Btw, my nephew’s name is Oliver Minh. The “Cu” that precedes his name means penis. For some reason, Vietnamese people think it’s cute to append “Cu” before babies’ & toddler’s actual names. Similar to how American people call little girls princesses and little boys munchkins, except those nicknames don’t mean penis.)

Mom: Oh! I almost forgot Linh’s lil’ boy …
Me: Cu Nam! (Penis Nam!)
Mom: No, that’s the older one. I’m talking about the new one.
Me: Cu Moi! (New Penis!)
Mom: Nooooo … that’s not it …

Then my mom goes quiet for a moment and then busts out laughing out loud. And when I figured out that my mom was laughing at “Cu Moi”, I chimed in a laughed with her.

Apparently, my mom think it’s hilarious to call my nephew “Cu Moi” (New Penis).

Maybe because it’s true. Of all the guys who have birthday’s in May, my nephew’s penis is the newest.

Or maybe an image of a “Cu Moi” popped up in her head and she found the imagery too repulsive or embarrassing that her only reaction was to laugh it off.

We will never know.

Well, at least now I know where I get my crude humor from!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

